I know a lot of you iPod Touch users are anxiously awaiting the launch of the App Store and the 2.0 firmware. While I can’t confirm this 100%, the rumor on the street is that we will see the launch of the App store Thursday at 9am PST or 12pm EST.

Since the new 3G iPhone launches in New Zealand on July 11th at midnight local time, this means it will be July 10th at 5am Pacific time due to the time differences in the United States. It would only make sense that the App Store and the 2.0 firmware would be released shortly after in the United States.

For those of you who are going to rush and upgrade to the new firmware, I just want to say a few things:

Since the 2.0 firmware is more secure and as a result harder to hack, it will likely take a longer time to Jailbreak it.

If you upgrade and the decide you want to go back to 1.1.4, I am not 100% sure that it will be possible to downgrade from 2.0 to 1.1.4. Of course I am going to upgrade to 2.0 myself and see if it can be done. I will keep you all posted.

Once 2.0 is released, I will make a new post describing the firmware as well as some of the apps available from the App store.

It’s going to be a crazy few weeks now guys! I hope everyone is ready!

